首页 > 养生 > 正文

Former foreign secretary urges UK ministers to stage Brexit mutiny

[2018-11-12 22:00:54] 来源: 编辑: 点击量:
评论 点击收藏
导读:   Former British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson Monday called on Prime Minister Theresa May's senior ministers to s

   Former British Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson Monday called on Prime Minister Theresa May's senior ministers to stage a mutiny and reject her proposals for Britain's departure from the European Union (EU).

  Writing in the Daily Telegraph newspaper, Johnson claimed May's Brexit plan will effectively mean Britain remains as "captives" of the EU.

  He said her plan would result in Britain's trade policy being run by Brussels at least until 2022, warning it could be long beyond that date.

  His attack comes just days after his younger brother Jo Johnson quit as a government minister in protest against May's handling of the Brexit process. Recent media reports in London have speculated that more of May's ministers are contemplating resigning.

  The next few weeks are critical in the Brexit process if a future relationship deal is to be signed off before Britain leaves the bloc next March.

  The Telegraph said May's ministers have been called to a cabinet meeting scheduled on Tuesday at 10 Downing Street, but a final decision on her Brexit plans is now likely to be delayed while negotiations with Brussels continue.

  It leaves May struggling to secure a November summit with European leaders to sign off the Brexit plans, increasing the risk that Britain will leave without a deal, the Telegraph commented.

  Eurosceptic Boris Johnson wrote in his latest article: "I really can't believe it, but this government seems to be on the verge of total surrender."

  Johnson added: "We have agreed to become the punk of Brussels, signing up not just to their existing rulebook but to huge chunks of future regulation -- even though we will have no say in drafting that legislation. We have agreed against all promises that the European Court of Justice will have a say in the enforcement of that regulation in the UK."

  Johnson said: "The government has deliberately and flagrantly failed to prepare the UK to walk away from the talks, the better to be able to bludgeon MPs into voting for surrender."

  Rival London newspaper, the Guardian, reported Monday that May's Brexit plan is under siege from across her Conservative party as she attempts to overcome the final sticking points with Brussels in time to push it through a critical meeting of her cabinet ministers.

  "As time runs out, leading Brexiters have told the prime minister they remain deeply opposed to her version of an exit mechanism that would prevent the UK unilaterally quitting a temporary customs arrangement if Brexit talks collapse," the newspaper added.

  The Guardian added that May is also facing a growing rebellion from the remaining wing of her party with rumors that four more pro-Europe ministers are on the brink of resigning from her government.

  Johnson and Brexit Secretary David Davis resigned in July within days of a meeting of the Cabinet at May's country retreat, Chequers, when the prime minister's preferred Brexit deal was agreed upon.



最准黄大仙139期 墨江| 宣化县| 诏安县| 上林县| 项城市| 察隅县| 荔波县| 江陵县| 越西县| 瑞金市| 中牟县| 阿拉善左旗| 黄石市| 永州市| 滕州市| 广平县| 大化| 镇康县| 开封县| 读书| 谢通门县| 天祝| 张北县| 长岛县| 阿鲁科尔沁旗| 塘沽区| 武汉市| 伊吾县| 临泉县| 高唐县| 南江县| 松阳县| 梁平县| 青阳县| 崇明县| 韶关市| 凤城市| 武穴市| 郓城县| 奈曼旗| 牙克石市| 永康市| 平顶山市| 赤壁市| 桦南县| 乌拉特前旗| 延安市| 宣化县| 井研县| 奉贤区| 子洲县| 陆丰市| 长治市| 苗栗县| 淮南市| 牙克石市| 沂水县| 新巴尔虎左旗| 九江县| 聂拉木县| 旌德县| 苍南县| 游戏| 马尔康县| 习水县| 通海县| 中阳县| 固始县| 新建县| 灌南县| 绥阳县| 博客| 铜陵市| 科技| 云梦县| 交口县| 武陟县| 龙山县| 综艺| 大名县| 泌阳县| 芮城县| 长泰县| 泰安市| 岗巴县| 平谷区| 镇康县| 九龙县| 西青区| 安龙县| 汉寿县| 蓝山县| 如东县| 白城市| 贵溪市| 兴国县| 兰州市| SHOW| 开封县| 班玛县| 台安县| 湛江市| 南和县| 淳化县| 调兵山市| 屏山县| 女性| 漾濞| 肇源县| 天全县| 桦甸市| 梁山县| 建阳市| 景谷| 雅江县| 历史| 石台县| 辽宁省| 玉田县| 资讯| 景泰县| 沐川县| 苗栗县| 清镇市| 景德镇市| 个旧市| 长治县| 田林县| 肥西县| 永登县| 武夷山市| 海丰县| 东明县| 永昌县| 乐陵市| 吴江市| 西宁市| 张家口市| 阳春市| 济阳县| 阿拉善右旗| 财经| 山阴县| 富锦市| 南充市| 桐庐县| 东乡县| 克拉玛依市| 利辛县| 邢台县| 滨州市| 宜阳县| 织金县| 遂平县| 黄陵县| 青海省| 永康市| 临桂县| 福海县| 龙井市| 文登市| 河曲县| 托克托县| 肥城市| 黄山市| 尚义县| 庆城县| 黄陵县| 石城县| 贡山| 荆州市| 西峡县| 勃利县| 南江县| 滦南县| 萍乡市| 巴里| 石林| 五寨县| 池州市| 莱阳市| 凤庆县| 辉县市| 通城县| 米林县| 芦山县| 岳普湖县| 蒙阴县|